Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Book Blitz: Elemental Lies


Elemental Lies
Elle Middaugh
(The Essential Elements, #2)
Publication date: July 24th 2017
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Valerie Moore is an Elemental, a person who commands one of the classical elements of wind, water, fire, or earth. She’s special, though. She controls two—fire and water—though sometimes it seems like they control her.
After the accidental exposure of Elementals to humanity, Valerie finds herself—and all of her kind—struggling to attain equality. Three different groups fight to secure leadership, and with all of their hidden agendas, she doesn’t know which side to choose. The balance between peaceful cohabitation and all-out war is precarious, at best.
When a chance meeting brings Val and earth Elemental Cade Landston back together, everything changes. She realizes what she knew in the beginning—that he’s the one she wants. Her desire to win him over draws her closer to him, and his vengeful mission to hunt down her murderous grandfather brings them both closer to trouble.
From mysterious doppelgangers to reckless rescue missions, scapegoat bombings, and evolving Elemental powers, Valerie strains to keep up.
All she knows is she must stop her grandfather at all costs. To do so, she has to figure out the truth, but how can she do so when almost everyone she knows has been telling lies?
Sequel to:
EXCERPT:
“What are you thinking?” Dad asked, knocking me back to the present.
My head shook subconsciously. “Nothing, really. Just trying to figure out all this change, trying to make sense of it, somehow.”
“It’s not easy,” he agreed. “And it’s only gonna get harder.”
I stared at him with wide doe eyes, silently pleading for some sort of direction.
“What should I do?” I asked. “Should I live my life as best I can and try to ignore the evil going on all around me? Or should I make it my life’s work to try to change that evil into good? Is it even worth it to try?”
Dad blew out a deep breath and pushed the rest of his stromboli aside. His fingers laced atop the table.
“I can’t tell you what to do, sweetheart, but I’ll tell you what I think. Should you live your life to the fullest? Absolutely, no contest. Should you ignore the evil around you? No, I wouldn’t ignore it. Given what you are, there’s a good chance it’ll come looking for you regardless.”
He licked his lips and paused before continuing. I stayed silent.
“Striving to make the world a better place…it’s a noble endeavor, but a very difficult one. Is it worth it to try? I think if your heart’s in it, if it’s something you feel strongly about and it’s something honorable and good, then it’s always worth it to try. I can’t guarantee you’ll succeed, and many times it might feel like all you’re doing is trudging uphill through two feet of shit and a thunderstorm. It might even be like that for the rest of your life, but if you care, truly and passionately, then no matter what happens in the end, you’ll be glad you did it.”
The sound of a pin dropping would have seemed as loud as shattering glass. There were no words in my head or my mouth, just a vast emptiness as I tried to absorb and process what he’d just said.
Unfortunately, there was no time.




Author Bio:
Elle Middaugh lives in the Allegheny Mountains outside of Clearfield, Pennsylvania, with her wonderful husband and three beautiful children. Most of her time is spent raising kids, writing stories, playing video games, reading, and attempting to keep a clean house.
She’s a proud Navy wife, a frazzle-brained mother, a fan of health and fitness, a lover of hot tea and iced tea, and a believer in happily ever afters.

XBTBanner1

Cover Reveal: Winner by Belle Brooks





Winner 
by Belle Brooks



 Roselette Horton...
Miss Prim and Proper.
Arm candy for one of the richest men in Hoffman.
Fate had her saving my life. Now I'm indebted to repay the favour.
Rose has the biggest stick up her arse. It’s surprising she can even put one foot in front of the other. She has no clue what it means to be living, or who she really is. To the outside world Rose has everything, but to those who pay close attention, it’s nothing short of a well-constructed facade.

I’m Finlay Crossley and I’m a simple misfit from the wrong side of the tracks.
Until three days ago, I didn't have two cents to rub together.
Rose is my opposite in every way, but as the saying goes—‘opposites attract.’

How in the world does a socialite notice a nobody like me?
It all happens when a loser becomes a winner.


Preorder today! 

(0.99 cents #preorderspecial)
Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2uIAPXx
Amazon CA: http://amzn.to/2uIx1FA
Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/2tZOkEs
Amazon AU: http://amzn.to/2v3cvib
Kobo: http://bit.ly/2vxahZt
iTunes: http://apple.co/2unY1dJ
Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/2gTTRqY


 


 Born in Australia, Belle Brooks has always had a passion for books and creative writing. She loves exploring the different ways stories can be told through the use of text and in-depth characters. Since she was a child her strong talent and interest in creative writing was evident, explaining that her favourite class in school was English. Despite her love for all things books, she decided the world of advertising and marketing was where she could put her talents to use in the business realm, well that is until now. Belle enjoys creative writing and creating fictional stories that leave a valued message inside the pages.

Expect the unexpected.


Author Website * GoodreadsFacebook * Twitter * Instagram








 

Teaser Tuesday #113



Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Books and a Beat. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:


  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teaser


 For me, being surprised was like wearing my best friend's favorite shirt;cherished for its borrowed uniqueness. Some people loved potty humor. I loved watching life's surprises happening all around me.








I'm super excited to start this book. It's been on my TBR for a long time! 



 

Monday, July 24, 2017

Review: One Week With The Marine





Title: One Week With The Marine 
Author: Allison Gatta 
Publisher: Entangled Publishing (Brazen)
Series: Love On Location #1
Format: Ebook ARC
Date Published:  July 24th 2017
Date Read: July 16th through 21st
ASIN #: B073P12W2R

 Best friends with benefits…

Avery Forrester has never been the type to settle down—not to one place, not to one job, and certainly not to one man. Still, when her long-term best friend with benefits comes home on leave with a plan—including marriage and children—she realizes she’ll have to do something drastic in order to keep him. Luckily, drastic is what she does best.

…isn’t enough anymore.

U.S. Marine Holden Morris has never backed down from a challenge. And this time, that challenge is persuading wild child Avery Forrester, the woman he’s loved his entire life, to marry him. He wants the whole deal—a wife, a family. But convincing her to become a military wife won’t be easy. Then again, he knows Avery—in every way possible. Armed with that kind of knowledge—carnal and otherwise--how can he possibly fail?




 One Week With The Marine was exactly what I was hoping it would be. The perfect read while on vacation, well a perfect read period. I loved reading every word and can't wait to read more from this fantastic author.

The writing style of this fantastic author, Allison Gatta, is one that flows easily and makes it really simple to read and makes you want to keep turning each page to see what's about to happen. I love books like that don't you? Books that you just have to keep going to find out what's going to happen next. If so then this book is perfect for you.

Now it's a little steamy and I must say Holden has become one of my new book boyfriends. I swear ladies, you will thank me for recommending this one to you. You know I don't give any spoilers, but let's just put it this way, my favorite scene in this one involves a strangers car, an airport and the Marine!

The characters themselves really had me rooting for them to get together, even though she doesn't want to admit she really cares.  There are times when I really connected with Avery and how she was feeling. She didn't want to get hurt and she knew he was going to have to leave again. That's something I think all of us feel at least a few times in our lives. I love when you can really root for characters to get together. I need more books like this one in my life. I can't wait to read more of this series and more from this author
.
There were two characters though that I must confess that I hated! That was his mother and his father. I wanted to jump into the book and shake them a few times. They really got on my nerves, but again it added to the story line and of course I love that about the writing style as well. There's always a villain and I'm pretty sure they fit the word to a tee.

All in all, One Week With The Marine was spectacular and I hope you will feel the same when you take the time to read this one. I know I wasn't disappointed in the least.





I'm going to have to give One Week With The Marine an Ali's Bookshelf...











 Here at Ali's Bookshelf we accept books in exchange for a honest review. The book above is one that I bought for myself. I also use Amazon Affiliate links at times.



It's Monday...What Are You Reading?



This meme started with J Kaye's Blog and then was taken up by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn at the Book Date.  It's a meme where you share what you read last week, what you're currently reading and what you plan on reading that week.





So this week is BookTube-A-Thon and I've already posted my TBR for that one, so I'm only going to be showing one of the books I plan to read this week. The book is one I'm going to read, only if I get through the others that are on my list. Not sure that will happen, but we shall see! 

What I'm Reading Today 


Kissing Max Holden by Katy Upperman 

(This one is for a blog tour.)


  Kissing Max Holden was a terrible idea...

After his father has a life-altering stroke, Max Holden isn't himself. As his long-time friend, Jillian Eldridge only wants to help him, but she doesn't know how. When Max climbs through her window one night, Jill knows that she shouldn't let him kiss her. But she can't resist, and when they're caught in the act by her dad, Jill swears it'll never happen again. Because kissing Max Holden is a terrible idea.

With a new baby sibling on the way, her parents fighting all the time, and her dream of culinary school up in the air, Jill starts spending more and more time with Max. And even though her father disapproves and Max still has a girlfriend, not kissing Max is easier said than done. Will Jill follow her heart and allow their friendship to blossom into something more, or will she listen to her head and stop kissing Max Holden once and for all?




So this weeks post is really small, but if you want to check out the rest of the books on my BookTube-a-Thon list you can click here! 






Sunday, July 23, 2017

This Week at a Glance



This post is a chance to showcase some things that happened here on the blog this week and some things that happened in real life this week. Also it's to showcase some of the amazing books that I recieved as well as read. 
 

 


This week has been amazing! I'm still down in Florida and my lovely, amazing, spectacular friend came up to see me.  We both got to tick something off our bucket lists and we did it together. 
 
 









I had so much fun! The bottom two are with our guides John and Amelia. They were hilarious. We went flying through 9 zip lines, 2 rope bridges and a repel. The views were so beautiful and everywhere you looked was something even more amazing. This was something that had been on my bucketlist for so long and I'm so happy that I got to do this with one of my best friends! I was super excited to see her and get to spend a few days with her. Britta we have to do this again and soon!!! 





Book I Received This Week
 
 
 This Week I've Been Reading
 
 
(I'm almost finished with this one and can't wait to share my thoughts with you.)  
 
 
 In Case You Missed It 
 
 
 

What You Might See This Upcoming Week
 
Review: One Week With The Marine 
Elemental Lies Book Blitz 
Review: Paper Princess 
Review: Broken Prince 
August TBR 
Book-tube-a-thon is this week!  
 

On Instagram

(If you don't follow me on Instagram, you can CLICK HERE to do so! I post a lot of book and life stuff.)





 This week has been a blast and I can't wait for this upcoming week to start!  How was your week? I'd love to hear from you. Comment below!


 

Saturday, July 22, 2017

Sittin on the Shelf


So Sitten on the Shelf is a post that I added to my blog a long time ago and it's one that I really want to bring back for many reasons. One of those reasons is that my TBR pile is huge, like extreamly huge and I need to start reading these books or unhauling them. So that's the main goal with the new Sittin on the Shelf here at Ali's Bookshelf. When I first started posting these posts here on Ali's Bookshelf I had gotten the idea from a great blogging friend. Her blog was On My Reading Pile, but sadly she's not blogging anymore there.

Then the other day I found a similar post over at Kimberlyfaye Reads and her TBR Thursday posts made me really want to bring back this post. So a huge thanks to her for that. If you haven't read her blog, you really should! Her posts are fantastic! Her blog is quickly becoming one of my favorite blogs.

I have a few questions that I'm going to answer for each book and then I'm going to ask your opinion. I would love to hear your thoughts about these books.  Seriously, I need your help!!!







Title: Brightest Kind of Darkness
Author: P.T. Michelle
Publisher: Patrice Michelle
Published:  June 27th 2011
Format: Ebook
Pages: 357 pages
 Nara Collins is an average sixteen-year-old, with one exception: every night she dreams the events of the following day. Due to an incident in her past, Nara avoids using her special gift to change fate…until she dreams a future she can’t ignore.

After Nara prevents a bombing at Blue Ridge High, her ability to see the future starts to fade, while people at school are suddenly being injured at an unusually high rate.

Grappling with her diminishing powers and the need to prevent another disaster, Nara meets Ethan Harris, a mysterious loner who seems to understand her better than anyone. Ethan and Nara forge an irresistible connection, but as their relationship heats up, so do her questions about his dark past.

This book has been on my Kindle for a long time, since 2011 and I think it's way past time to read it. What do you all think? It does have a lot of pages and with the other one I have to read, we shall see if I can pull this off.

  Why I haven't read this book yet?

When I got this book I was super excited to read it and fell in love with the cover, but I think it fell the wayside due to other review books. Back then I was really pushing those review books and sometimes books that I wanted to read, were pushed aside. Which of course I know now was a huge mistake!


 What I Plan On Doing?

The plan is to read this in August! Not sure I'll be able to pull it off with all the others that I have to read, but I'm going to really try my hardest. I don't want to get rid of this one, so we shall see.


What Do You All Think? 

What do you think about my plan? Have you read this book? If so let me know your thoughts in the comments! I really want to know your thoughts.


Friday, July 21, 2017

BookTube-A-Thon TBR




So BookTube-A-Thon starts next week and I'm super excited to participate again. Even though I'll be traveling one of the days, I still want to get some reading finished throughout the whole thing. So one of my books will be an audio book (Of course lol). I'm also going to try to get through the reading challenges just not sure that will happen, but hey it's a goal right? Anyway, it's time to show the books I plan to read. 







Let's talk about the reading challenges first! 


  • 1. Read a Book with a Person on the cover. 
For this challenge I chose the book that I'm adding to my Sittin on the Shelf Challenge for next month.  Which clearly has a person on the cover!






  • 2. Read a Hyped Book 
For this one, I had to think about it for a few minutes. I have so many books to read that would work for this one, but in the end I chose one that I had heard so much about when it came out and I have been dying to start it.







  • 3. Finish a Book in One Day
For this challenge I'm going to do this one for my audio book and the day I'll be traveling. It's also a hyped book lol.







  • 4. Read a Book About a Character Whose Really Different Than You
Since again, I'll be traveling on Tuesday, I'm going to add another audio book to this list since The Lightning Thief isn't that long.  I have a sixteen hour drive that day so the this challenge will cover the second book.






  • 5. Finish A Book Completely Outside 
For this book I'm hoping I'll be home and can finish this on my front porch. It's only 104 pages so it won't be too bad!





 

 
  •  6. Finish a Book You Bought Because of the Cover
I don't usually buy books just because of the cover, but this book was one that I bought at #RAGT2017 and I loved the cover and of course the author. So I guess it counts right?

 

  • 7. Finish 7 Books in 7 Days 
Not sure I can finish all 7, but like I said I'm going to try really hard. The last book is a really short one and even the author called them Netflix books lol. I've already finished the first and I think it's time to read the second.






 




Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Archive

This Blog is Protected..

myfreecopyright.com registered & protected

Blogoversary

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

My Beautiful Blog was Designed by...

Ali's Bookshelf © 2011-present